in

Quark Forums

This is a user-to-user forum, where you can meet community experts, exchange ideas
and discuss solutions with other users of QuarkXPress, App Studio and other products.
You'll also find employees of Quark Software Inc. participating in discussions.

If you are looking for official support or need immediate help please go to http://quark.parature.com/

Inserting Page Numbers in Quark 8 / Windows XP system

Last post 01-26-2011 7:03 AM by eyoungren. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 12-28-2009 7:35 PM

Inserting Page Numbers in Quark 8 / Windows XP system

Hi there,

I am completely new to Quark 8 but have just typeset my first book with facing pages.

I had to typeset it first before inserting page numbers as I needed to see which page chapter 1 landed on which is actually page 13.

So on page 13 of the document I need the numbers to run from 1 onwards and finish on page 357 of the document (which is not the last page of the actual book).

On all of the pages in the Page Layout box it shows an "A" on each page, and I thought an A means it is a master page.  At the bottom of this page I inserted a text box and then did Control + 3 which just added a page number 13, but no run of page numbers throughout the book.  The <#> symbol did not appear as it did in my training course.

I also went to page 13 of the document and clicked on the green arrow icon -"Section" and ticked Section Start and entered a page number 1.  Again this put a page number 1 on page 13 but no run of page numbers all the way through the book.I thought that as long as you did this on Master Page, then then the page run of numbers would work?

I am completely stuck with this and do not understand why this isn't working!

If anyone can helpI would be most grateful.

Many thanks!

Amanda 

• 12-28-2009 8:21 PM In reply to

Re: Inserting Page Numbers in Quark 8 / Windows XP system