Former/returning Quark user with a question on opacity/trans

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 10, 9 & 8 (and before) (excluding Digital Publishing).
For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.

As QuarkXPress 1 thru 10 are not supported by Quark anymore, please upgrade to a newer version of QuarkXPress if you are looking for official support. Support options for supported versions are here: http://support.quark.com

Postby vita64 » 17 Mar 2010, 05:37

I have 12 years of Quark XPress experience (1992-2004) primarily in Quark 2 and 3 with some 4. I haven't used it much since, but do have a copy of Quark 7. I'm designing a book cover for someone and they want a semi-transparent text box to sit on top of a photograph. Back in the day, I would have done this in Photoshop, but I see that it's now possible to do it directly in Quark which, for simplicity reasons, I would prefer. My question is rather straight forward. Since it's been YEARS since I've done graphic design at all and I've never done transparency directly in Quark, I'm unsure of just how transparent to make my text box with white background in order to 1) still see the photograph beneath while 2) still being able to read the text above. Right now I have it set to 50% opacity. The photo beneath is not primarily dark or light, but a good mix of both. The text is black.Also, if there are any pitfalls I should be aware of, a heads up would be most appreciated.All replies are greatly appreciated.Thanks.
vita64

Postby mac_nick » 17 Mar 2010, 05:59

Sometimes I combine a text object and a plain transparent white box. I arrange the text over the white box and adjust the transparency based on the colors of the underlying picture. But in the end you get the same result.
mac_nick

Postby eyoungren » 17 Mar 2010, 06:20

mac_nick's suggestion is good. And it will allow you to do the following if in all your adjustments you still cannot read the type clearly.