Get rid of text oversets

Discuss AppleScripting for QuarkXPress 10, 9 & 8 (and before)

Get rid of text oversets

Postby dlraff1 » 05 Mar 2015, 12:14

How do I write a script to convert text boxes with overset to text boxes with content none? There is really no text in the boxes so I want to get rid of the overset "X".
dlraff1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2015, 12:10

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby Jean-Marie Schwartz » 06 Mar 2015, 05:08

Hi! No text doesn't mean nothing. Typically, a single blank paragraph can lead to a text overset flag. Just remove the last paragraph return if paragraph is empty. Repeat till things are clear. HTH.
Jean-Marie Schwartz

= Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel 2.8 GHz • 10 Go 1066 MHz DDR3 • Mac OS 10.10.5 • QuarkXPress 9.5.4.1 + QuarkXPress 2017 • Adobe CS5 =
Jean-Marie Schwartz
 
Posts: 2497
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 04:30

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby dlraff1 » 06 Mar 2015, 08:31

This is what I'd like to get rid of in my documents:
http://tinyurl.com/pddebgq
dlraff1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2015, 12:10

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby MikeWenzloff » 06 Mar 2015, 09:44

Is there suppose to be a character inside those text boxes? If there are no characters in them, you don't really have to do anything. If it is too distracting, try changing one from having Text as the content to a picture. If that cures it, do the remainder.

If there are suppose to be characters in them, likely the paragraph style in them has a font set too large, leading too big, space before/after too large, etc. In that case change the style in each box until you see the character.

Mike
MikeWenzloff
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby dlraff1 » 06 Mar 2015, 09:54

Thanks Mike.
There was an "X" character in those boxes but they've been removed. I was just trying to find an easy way to get rid of all those boxes now with the text overset indicator. It is distracting when working with the form. I was hoping I could use scripting to just delete them all.
dlraff1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2015, 12:10

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby ddwebdev » 07 Mar 2015, 17:38

From quark 9.1 they've add a feature in the view menu which hide some screen element:
Hide Suppressed
The Hide Suppressed command (View menu) hides all items for which the Suppress Output box is checked in the Box, Line, Picture, or Layout pane of the Modify dialog box, as well as layers for which Suppress Output is checked in the Attributes dialog box. In addition, this option hides underlines on hyperlinks, hyperlink anchors, index markers, and the text overflow symbol.

if you dont mind the other thing that feature is hiding like underlines on hyperlinks, hyperlink anchors, index markers. I think is what you need
ddwebdev
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 11 May 2012, 12:34

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby Jean-Marie Schwartz » 09 Mar 2015, 05:44

OK I see better what you want. You just need to convert the boxes to None content boxes. So far your boxes are supposed to welcome some text and the dimensions are far too small to show even the cursor. Does it make sense to you? HTH.
Jean-Marie Schwartz

= Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel 2.8 GHz • 10 Go 1066 MHz DDR3 • Mac OS 10.10.5 • QuarkXPress 9.5.4.1 + QuarkXPress 2017 • Adobe CS5 =
Jean-Marie Schwartz
 
Posts: 2497
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 04:30

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby dlraff1 » 09 Mar 2015, 07:45

Thanks ddwebdev! That was too easy! I've never used Hide Suppressed before, but that's a good thing to know about.
Thank you also Jean-Marie Schwartz. I was trying to write a script to convert the boxes to content None, but was not successful in doing so. But I think the Hide Suppressed feature will do just fine.
Love these forums; always can find an answer here!
dlraff1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2015, 12:10

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby Jean-Marie Schwartz » 09 Mar 2015, 09:39

Just in case you'd need it, this piece of code should do the trick. Mind it is based only on the presence of the overflow symbol, that means that any other text box with that symbol but with real text would be converted too. We could update the script if needed.

Code: Select all
tell application "QuarkXPress9"
   tell document 1
      set content of (every text box whose box overflows is true) to none content
   end tell
end tell
Jean-Marie Schwartz

= Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel 2.8 GHz • 10 Go 1066 MHz DDR3 • Mac OS 10.10.5 • QuarkXPress 9.5.4.1 + QuarkXPress 2017 • Adobe CS5 =
Jean-Marie Schwartz
 
Posts: 2497
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 04:30

Re: Get rid of text oversets

Postby dlraff1 » 09 Mar 2015, 11:11

Thank you Jean-Marie. I would like to try that script.
I just copied and pasted your text but it won't compile. I get the following error message:
http://tinyurl.com/nsrp8y6
dlraff1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2015, 12:10

Next

Return to QuarkXPress 8, 9 & 10: AppleScript

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron