Baseline shift shortcut doesn't work

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 2015 (excluding Digital Publishing)
For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.

Baseline shift shortcut doesn't work

Postby 1953Chevrolet » 05 Jan 2017, 13:08

Holding down the shift/control/option keys, then hitting the - or + key used to move type up or down in small increments. Since I just upgraded to Sierra, the highlighted type just jumps to a smaller size; nothing else.

Has this been fixed in the huge lists of issues for Quark and Sierra?

Thanks from Santa Monica
1953Chevrolet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jan 2017, 13:02

Re: Baseline shift shortcut doesn't work

Postby MikeWenzloff » 05 Jan 2017, 15:08

I don't use a Mac and so just to look to see if there was a difference I downloaded the keyboard shortcuts PDF from the Quark website. For moving the baseline, this is what it shows for baseline shift in QXP 2015:

Up 1 point: cmd+Option+Shift+=
Down 1 point: cmd+Option+Shift+ - (hyphen)

Does this work for you?

Mike
MikeWenzloff
 
Posts: 988
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: Baseline shift shortcut doesn't work

Postby 1953Chevrolet » 05 Jan 2017, 15:24

It worked that way for the past 20 years but after upgrading to Sierra, it stopped.
1953Chevrolet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jan 2017, 13:02

Re: Baseline shift shortcut doesn't work

Postby MikeWenzloff » 05 Jan 2017, 16:59

The system must be hijacking those key combinations. I don't use a Mac so I am at a loss as to how to even check.

The FaceBook page that is a closed group has more traffic and likely would result in better advice. If you are a member there in that closed group, I would recommend posting there. If you are not a member there, approval is usually fairly quick. But if you are not a person that uses FB (I wasn't for a long time after Quark created it and only use the Quark closed group), I would be happy to post there for you and perhaps point to this thread.

Mike
MikeWenzloff
 
Posts: 988
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: Baseline shift shortcut doesn't work

Postby Rohit Bajaj (Quark) » 06 Jan 2017, 06:44

Hello 1953Chevrolet,

The following shortcuts are working fine:
Baseline
Up 1 point: cmd+Option+Shift+=
Down 1 point: cmd+Option+Shift+ - (hyphen)

SuperScript
Cmd+Shift+=

SubScript
Cmd+Shift+-

Thanks
Rohit
Rohit Bajaj (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 15 Jul 2015, 06:40

Re: Baseline shift shortcut doesn't work

Postby shaun » 06 Jan 2017, 08:35

Same result as Rohit above. Qk 2016 and os Sierra.
Baseline can also be moved up with the Cmd+option+shift and the + number pad key instead of the = key as described, but other number pad keys have no effect.
shaun
 
Posts: 330
Joined: 14 Jan 2006, 13:12


Return to QuarkXPress 2015: General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron