I give up. "Bad file format" is now the norm.

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 2015 (excluding Digital Publishing)
For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.

I give up. "Bad file format" is now the norm.

Postby Ericr23 » 06 Jan 2016, 15:15

I have been using QuarkXPress for some 25 years now, always preferring it as a professional typesetter’s page layout program. And I have been very satisfied with QuarkXPress 2015’s stability and power. So it makes me sick (almost literally, considering the days of work I’ve lost – for a freelancer, that’s real income) that I must now abandon it.

I have been able to work just fine creating my latest book project, involving 4-color graphics, including some PSD files (for the alpha-channel clipping), drop shadows, runarounds, and rotations, as well as callout anchoring. Each chapter file is only 20–30 pages long. I am able to complete and save the work without a problem. Autosaved backups were being made. Then I can’t reopen the files, including the backup versions, owing to “Bad file format [69]”. This is happening so consistently now that I give up. I’ve saved all of the Quark files (the completed book) in case some solution can be found, but meanwhile I’m starting over in Indesign, which I hate for typesetting and book layout, but at least it works.
Last edited by Ericr23 on 07 Jan 2016, 13:04, edited 1 time in total.
Ericr23

Re: I give up. "Bad file format" is now the norm.

Postby Sarbjit Singh » 07 Jan 2016, 00:32

Hello Eric,

I am really sorry that you had to recreate your layouts because of this issue.

We have not faced this issue while testing QuarkXPress 2015. Could you please share some of the layouts that you are not able to open now? We will try and find out what caused the error. Please PM your e-mail address so that I can help you.
Sarbjit Singh
Quarkian
Quarkian

Postby Sarbjit Singh » 07 Jan 2016, 01:42