How to Fix Overset or Overflow Text

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 2016 (excluding Digital Publishing)
For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.

How to Fix Overset or Overflow Text

Postby user26732 » 25 Jun 2017, 12:29

Newbie here.
I created a project.
Ten pages long.
Added paragraphs, changed spacing, etc.
Now I get to page 8 and find the red box with an 'x' instead of my text.
Tried "Add Pages to Reflow". Nothing happened.
Tried to add a page, then using the link tool, click on page 8, then the new page. Nothing happened.
Tried "Insert Pages." The "Link to Current Text Chain" is greyed out.
Turned to Google. There are lots of solutions for InDesign (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmBYI1559Yw); none for Quark.
Is there a simple solution?
user26732

Re: How to Fix Overset or Overflow Text

Postby MikeWenzloff » 25 Jun 2017, 12:55

After adding a page to the end of the document, you need to create a text frame unless you have a primary text frame on the master page being used. Then select the link tool, click on the last filled text box, then click on the new page's text box.

Mike
MikeWenzloff

Postby user26732 » 25 Jun 2017, 14:56

Is there a way to create a new, full page text frame without using the cursor to manually draw one?
Adding a page does not have a "text box" option.
Also, I may be adding a dozen pages. Does this mean manually drawing a text box for each new page? Isn't there a way to do this automatically?
It is extremely difficult to guess how many extra pages will be needed when editing text.
user26732

Postby max.peter » 26 Jun 2017, 03:45

This option is available during creating a new project, by checking the appropiated checkbox, see the attached image. Once checked this checkbox, every new page have a textbox as is designed in its master page.
Attachments
01.jpg
01.jpg (108.55 KiB) Viewed 987 times
Every day is a good day to learn something new.
max.peter