Adding Text from a csv

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 2017 (excluding Digital Publishing)
For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.

Want to discuss with hundreds of fellow QuarkXPress fans and interact with the QuarkXPress team? Then join our Facebook Group please, where every day dozens of questions are being asked and answered: https://www.facebook.com/groups/quarkxpress/

Adding Text from a csv

Postby raxoz1 » 08 Nov 2017, 10:34

Hi,

I am currently giving Quark a try and I was wondering whether it is possible to create a csv and add the text from those lines, as it is possible with InDesign (which I am also checking out right now)
So I have not decided, yet. However, I can save quite some time by using csvs, so that functionality would really help a lot ...

Other than buying JoLetter for the high amount of money, that I cannot afford, I am a student after all ...

best wishes and thanks in advance
raxoz1

Re: Adding Text from a csv

Postby MikeWenzloff » 08 Nov 2017, 11:35

Nope, not natively.

There are some XTensions for data merging. Which is appropriate would depend upon what the merge goals are. I dislike ID's native data merge even with the user-made scripts for easing the pain. So years ago I bought a license for Em Software's InData for use in ID (and also bought the QXP version named XData).

Basically the native ID merge is a dumbed-down version of merging in MS Word. It's more or less OK for simple work, but even then it isn't as flexible as Word can be.

Merging using the Em Software plug-in/XTension is far, far better. For more simple merging in QXP, the JoLetter XTension more or less replicates what ID can do without the use of JavaScript to facilitate more comprehensive and flexible merging.