Artwork/files in use

Kick back on the couch and discuss all things not directly related to QuarkXPress.

Artwork/files in use

Postby Brite » 13 Aug 2013, 10:22

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting here and I hope that I'm in the right place! I have a question. Something I have needed to do now for a long time and have put off out of fear of losing something! I'll try to make it short...I do the graphics for a small coupon publication. I do the ads, import pics, logos etc...and make up my 64 page book each month with the ads that I've created or just changed from month to month. I've been doing this for 14 years and have never trashed any of the art I have stored on my mac! I have 5 folders of art and I think it's really starting to drag down my computer. My question is...Is there a way to find out what art is NOT in use? So that I can put that on a disk and keep only what I am using? I really dont want to go through and hand pick each file and drag to a new folder or drag each piece not in use to a disk. I may have to do it that way, i know, but I want t a list of items in use or not in use from my 64 page document, if that makes sense. Or maybe there is some magical quick easy way that I don't know about!? lol Sorry for the loooong story here and I appreciate any replies. Thank you :)PS. I am using QuarkXPress 7.

Artwork/files in use

Postby migman » 13 Aug 2013, 19:45

It might be possible to write a script that will open each file, do a Collect for Output and then delete the original links, but I can't help with that because I'm not a scripting guy. There is a scripting forum, so you might want to check over there.
On the other hand, if the art on your computer is "really starting to drag down" your computer, I have to ask if that's because you have too little free space. If that's the problem, you should consider getting a new or additional hard drive. Some new ones that go up to 4TB start at less than $200.

Artwork/files in use