QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 10, 9 & 8 (and before) (excluding Digital Publishing).
For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.

As QuarkXPress 1 thru 10 are not supported by Quark anymore, please upgrade to a newer version of QuarkXPress if you are looking for official support. Support options for supported versions are here: http://support.quark.com
robertgampe
Posts: 0
Joined: 21 Oct 2014, 03:33

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by robertgampe » 21 Oct 2014, 04:13

I'm using 10.2.1, Mac Pro (Ende 2013), 3,5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 32 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 ECC

Matthias Guenther (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 2490
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 15:06
Contact:

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by Matthias Guenther (Quark) » 21 Oct 2014, 04:21

Hi Robert,

just checked with the team, not a known issue for us.

Can you please send us your project by doing a collect for output?

Thanks
Matthias
Feel there should be more chatting, more tips, more user interaction?
Join us on Facebook, a forum-like group with over 2,000 QuarkXPress fans interacting:
http://www.facebook.com/groups/quarkxpress

Image

robertgampe
Posts: 0
Joined: 21 Oct 2014, 03:33

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by robertgampe » 21 Oct 2014, 04:25

hej matthias,

it does not depend on the project. it's the same with every document. does your pdf writing work as before yosemite?

Matthias Guenther (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 2490
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 15:06
Contact:

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by Matthias Guenther (Quark) » 21 Oct 2014, 04:27

Hi Robert,

yes, we see no difference.

How do you create the PDFs, via PDF Export or via Print to Distiller?

Thanks
Matthias
Feel there should be more chatting, more tips, more user interaction?
Join us on Facebook, a forum-like group with over 2,000 QuarkXPress fans interacting:
http://www.facebook.com/groups/quarkxpress

Image

robertgampe
Posts: 0
Joined: 21 Oct 2014, 03:33

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by robertgampe » 21 Oct 2014, 04:29

the pdf style must contain: transparenzen nativ ausgeben

robertgampe
Posts: 0
Joined: 21 Oct 2014, 03:33

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by robertgampe » 21 Oct 2014, 04:29

via export

AoxoMoxoA
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 11:48

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by AoxoMoxoA » 21 Oct 2014, 12:06

Works fine with me, using EXPORT > LAYOUT AS PDF > Then selecting "Export Transparency Natively" in the PDF Export options.
Attachments
screen-capture.jpg
screen-capture.jpg (175.27 KiB) Viewed 2255 times

robertgampe
Posts: 0
Joined: 21 Oct 2014, 03:33

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by robertgampe » 22 Oct 2014, 02:34

hej!

do you really have many transparencies and shadows in your doc? is it more than four pages? and writing a pdf is still as fast as it was before?

Matthias Guenther (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 2490
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 15:06
Contact:

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by Matthias Guenther (Quark) » 22 Oct 2014, 02:58

Hi all,

we found that actually this is happening on some machines, not sure yet why and whether we can still fix it in 10.5.

However we have a workaround: Please move the progress bar of the PDF Export dialog outside the visible area of your screen, e.g. at the bottom of your screen, so that you only see the title bar.

That makes it fast again. Just confirmed that with Robert, so this is FYI in case you are also experiencing this issue.

Thanks
Matthias
Feel there should be more chatting, more tips, more user interaction?
Join us on Facebook, a forum-like group with over 2,000 QuarkXPress fans interacting:
http://www.facebook.com/groups/quarkxpress

Image

robertgampe
Posts: 0
Joined: 21 Oct 2014, 03:33

Re: QuarkXPress 10 and Yosemite

Post by robertgampe » 22 Oct 2014, 03:05

works perfect. thanks a lot matthias.

Post Reply

Return to “QuarkXPress 8, 9 & 10: General”