Collating

Discuss QuarkXPress print functionality and printing workflows
funtastic
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Nov 2004, 11:14

Collating

Post by funtastic » 12 Nov 2004, 11:19

I am trying to print from Quark 6.1 on an HP 4550. Before I upgraded to 6.1, I had no trouble having the same printer collate a multi-page document. I am going through the same steps now, but instead of giving me one complete document after another, it gives me all of the copies of the first page, then all of the copies of the second page, and so on. I get two print dialog windows, and the "Collate" box is checked on both of them. What am I missing?

Thanks!

Tom Owens
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Aug 2004, 10:28

Collating

Post by Tom Owens » 12 Nov 2004, 13:09

In your print dialogue, click on the printer button on the lower left. The copies and pages panel should open up. Make sure that collate is checked.

Regards,
Tom

funtastic
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Nov 2004, 11:14

Collating

Post by funtastic » 12 Nov 2004, 15:48

Thanks, Tom. I have been making sure the "Collate" button is checked on my main print screen, as well as on the secondary print screen you referenced. But, with both those buttons checked, my copies are still not collating properly. Can you think of anything else I should check?

Thanks,

Jay

ampegg66
Posts: 218
Joined: 08 Nov 2004, 12:32
Location: Austin, Texas

Collating

Post by ampegg66 » 12 Nov 2004, 19:24

Same issue in 6.1 and 6.5, printing to HP Color LaserJet 4550 and HP LaserJet 5000.

In 6.1, I checked both Collate boxes, to no effect.

In 6.5, the Collate option in the main Print dialog is grayed out. Checking the secondary box has no effect.

In 6.1, I did get a LaserJet 4100 to collate properly, haven't tried it in 6.5 since I just updated this afternoon.

Still working to find/resolve the issue.

Edit: Occurs in OS X 10.3.5 and 10.3.6.

funtastic
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Nov 2004, 11:14

Collating

Post by funtastic » 15 Nov 2004, 08:35

Can you tell me what you did in 6.1 to get it to collate properly on the 4100? Do you know if this will work on the 4500, or should I just give it a try?

Thanks!

Jay

marcusstringer
Posts: 263
Joined: 29 Jul 2004, 19:04

Collating

Post by marcusstringer » 15 Nov 2004, 21:04

I have the same problem with Richo printers.
(the standard answer I got from Richo and Quark was it was the other guys fault).
Problem still not fixed, gave up, and just print one at a time.

Collates great from Xerox.

Tom Owens
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Aug 2004, 10:28

Collating

Post by Tom Owens » 16 Nov 2004, 11:20

Try this:

In the print dialogue, if the lower left, click on printer. Now that opens up the basic settings dialogue, click the tab on that and select the printer options tab and see if there's a collate tab in there.

If there is, set that but DON'T set the others and print.

I'm guessing here...I've never had the problem.

Regards,
Tom

marcusstringer
Posts: 263
Joined: 29 Jul 2004, 19:04

Collating

Post by marcusstringer » 16 Nov 2004, 16:31

Sorry to say Tom, from my end, that doesn't work.
Tried different combinations of everything

ricky1979
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Nov 2004, 15:42

Collating

Post by ricky1979 » 16 Nov 2004, 21:19

hi!! all

try these steps and do let me know the results :--

1. go to file-->print.click on the "setup" tab.in the printer description pop up menu select "generic black and white".make sure that you need to select your hp printer and then try to print.

2.go to file-->print.click on the "printer" button.now from the third pop-up menu select "output options".check the option of "save as file".from the format pop-up menu select "postscript"..then click on print and then save it on the desktop and then again click on print button.now that file will be on the desktop.go to machd-->applications-->utilities-->print centre (mac os 10.2) //print setup utility(10.3)..open it...now drag that postscript file onto the hp printer..see if it prints fine.

3. try to make pdf of the document by going to "file--> export-->layout as pdf"..and then try to print pdf..see if it prints fine

make sure that in all of the above test "collate"option should be checked.. :D

plz get back to me with the results


thx

967stuart
Posts: 43
Joined: 24 Jul 2009, 05:16

Collating

Post by 967stuart » 07 Jan 2014, 23:31

"Try this:

In the print dialogue, if the lower left, click on printer. Now that opens up the basic settings dialogue, click the tab on that and select the printer options tab and see if there's a collate tab in there.

If there is, set that but DON'T set the others and print.

I'm guessing here...I've never had the problem.

Regards,
Tom"


This worked for me! Thank you.

Post Reply

Return to “QuarkXPress 8, 9 & 10: Output (Printing & PDF Export)”