script search for text in table

Discuss AppleScripting for QuarkXPress 10, 9 & 8 (and before)
Emma
Posts: 657
Joined: 07 Jul 2004, 08:43

script search for text in table

Post by Emma » 20 Feb 2014, 05:03

If you wrap it in a
considering case
...
end considering
will that make it case sensitive?

Jean-Marie Schwartz
Posts: 1168
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 04:30

script search for text in table

Post by Jean-Marie Schwartz » 20 Feb 2014, 05:13

I've tried it but no luck :-/ This said I have many issues with scripting Quark since upgrading to Mountain Lion ;-( Don't know if it is related or not.

Nuetel
Posts: 0
Joined: 19 Feb 2014, 11:50

script search for text in table

Post by Nuetel » 20 Feb 2014, 05:50

Thanks very much Jean-Marie Schwartz [:)]!!
I osx 10.4.11 Quark Xpress 8.5 .... dont't work for tex to table

tell application "QuarkXPress"
set t to count documents
repeat with i from 1 to t
try
tell document 1
set (every text of every story where it is "cat") to "dog"
set (every text of story 1 of every table box where it is "white") to "balck"

end try
save document 1
close document 1
end repeat
end tell

Jean-Marie Schwartz
Posts: 1168
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 04:30

script search for text in table

Post by Jean-Marie Schwartz » 20 Feb 2014, 23:12

For some reason it appears that the changes made on the tables must come before those in the regular text boxes. So just try inverting the two lines. Mind a end tell line is missing but I guess it's gone in the copy/paste handliing. HTH. Oh and if it still doesn't work that way, try seperating clearly the two commands by ending the tell block in the middle if you get what I mean. HTH.

Nuetel
Posts: 0
Joined: 19 Feb 2014, 11:50

script search for text in table

Post by Nuetel » 22 Feb 2014, 05:26

Thank you very much Jean-Marie !!!
I tried, but it does not work ... I also tried to ignoring attributes,
but it does not work and also with one line for table box...
Thanks anyway ... and sorry for my english

Jean-Marie Schwartz
Posts: 1168
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 04:30

script search for text in table

Post by Jean-Marie Schwartz » 22 Feb 2014, 09:53

Sorry it doesn't work! I must say OS X.4.11 is far away from me now as well as QuarkXPress 8.5. I guess it's down to your config. Bad luck!

Post Reply

Return to “QuarkXPress 8, 9 & 10: AppleScript”