How add script/action for button

Discuss Interactive Design & Flash® (SWF) Export inside QuarkXPress 7, 8 & 9.
Exchange ideas, share helpful tips and get started with your first interactive design.
Please note that Flash (SWF) authoring is not supported in QuarkXPress 10 anymore.
lewaw
Posts: 166
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

How add script/action for button

Post by lewaw » 10 Oct 2010, 20:59

Hi
One portal require to add this script to flash banner for button.

How I can do this and where in quark8?
script is here:
on (release)
{
getURL(_root.click, "_blank");
}

Regards

Matthias Guenther (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 2490
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 15:06
Contact:

How add script/action for button

Post by Matthias Guenther (Quark) » 11 Oct 2010, 22:27

Hi lewaw,
not sure I understand, do you have a Flahs project in QuarkXPress 8 for which youwant to add such code?
Or do you have a Flash project in Adobe Flash Pro imported in a QuarkXPress Web layout to which you need to add this code?
Thanks
Matthias

lewaw
Posts: 166
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

How add script/action for button

Post by lewaw » 11 Oct 2010, 22:55

Hi Matthias,
I want create new project (swf baner for portal) in Quark 8.
And this big portal need to add this code (or similar) for all banners on new layers which will be as transparent button. Maybe in Adobe Flash it is simple and this suggestion is rather for Flash users, but I haven't Flash and think how do this in Quark.
Regards
lewaw

Matthias Guenther (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 2490
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 15:06
Contact:

How add script/action for button

Post by Matthias Guenther (Quark) » 11 Oct 2010, 23:35

Hi lewaw,
so you are creating an Interactive layout? I'll move your post into the right forum then.
I haven't tested it myself, but I assume the following will work:
For your button create connect the event "mouse up" with the following action: "Internet > OpenURL > _root.click" and check "Open in new window".
Regards
Matthias

lewaw
Posts: 166
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

How add script/action for button

Post by lewaw » 12 Oct 2010, 00:56

Hi Matthias,
Yes I have Interactive layout but I dont know where put " _root.click"
If here -> URL and in new window I have Name:, Type:, Path: where put _root.click? to Path:?
Regards

Odin
Posts: 31
Joined: 20 Apr 2010, 16:08

How add script/action for button

Post by Odin » 12 Oct 2010, 07:41


lewaw
Posts: 166
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

How add script/action for button

Post by lewaw » 12 Oct 2010, 09:54

invisible ink [;)]

Matthias Guenther (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 2490
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 15:06
Contact:

How add script/action for button

Post by Matthias Guenther (Quark) » 12 Oct 2010, 22:30

Yes, in "Path". The name field is just anything you like to make it identifyable.
Thanks
Matthias

lewaw
Posts: 166
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

How add script/action for button

Post by lewaw » 13 Oct 2010, 06:10

Thank you Matthias [:D]

Odin
Posts: 31
Joined: 20 Apr 2010, 16:08

How add script/action for button

Post by Odin » 13 Oct 2010, 07:58

lewaw wrote:
invisible ink Image

lol, first I answered that the path seems to be a good idea, and you should just go try it out - In general that is the way to learn :)
Then I regret, because I thought that I properly misunderstood the issue, that there was more into it... but you cannot delete a post, only edit, sorry for trouble!

Locked

Return to “General authoring questions”