Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

You have completed your first interactive designs with QuarkXPress 7, 8 & 9 and now have need for more advanced functionality. Discuss Expressions here, ask questions and learn more about them.
Please note that Flash (SWF) authoring is not supported in QuarkXPress 10 anymore.
k_ahrendt
Posts: 0
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 14:29

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by k_ahrendt » 21 Aug 2007, 07:05

Hi Kabir,
Thanks, that works. It's not the first time that I've been tripped up by the picture box size. I think I redid a whole presentation for this very same reason but got lucky the second time and had the box size correct. I'll make sure that I put this on my cheat sheet that I keep next to the system!

Now for the next thought... is there any way to adapt this (or even a new script) to have QID create a page hit counter?
My attempts at using the service providers plugin haven't been successful (probably because I don't understand the coding sequences) in getting a counter to appear on the page. I'd love to be able to do it with ID.

Thanks again,
Kathy

k_ahrendt
Posts: 0
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 14:29

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by k_ahrendt » 21 Aug 2007, 07:31

Kabir,
Maybe I spoke too soon...
I previewed the page in Quark and the clock shows but after downloading the new html page to the server the clock doesn't play. Any other ideas?
Kathy

Kabir(Quark)
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Oct 2006, 23:29

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by Kabir(Quark) » 21 Aug 2007, 08:05

Hi Kathy

Did you copy the corresponding "image" folder of the HTML page as well on the web server?

This should hold the swf file for the clock.

Regards,
Kabir

k_ahrendt
Posts: 0
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 14:29

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by k_ahrendt » 21 Aug 2007, 09:53

Hi Kabir,
I redownloaded the index page and the clock and all is well. Thanks so much!
Kathy

chrisk
Posts: 0
Joined: 06 Jun 2007, 05:07

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by chrisk » 05 Nov 2007, 12:42

Hi all,


I seem to be strruggling with this.

Ive got the time and the date working fine.

Ive tried replacing with Monday, Tuesday etc as described earlier in this thread, but it seems to put it at the end of the string not replacing the specific bit.

ie.

1:10:2007Monday

Any ideas

All the best
ChrisK

Kabir(Quark)
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Oct 2006, 23:29

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by Kabir(Quark) » 06 Nov 2007, 01:22

Hi Chris

It seems like you have first appended the day and date and then are applying the if conditions. You don't need to first append the day and date. Just apply the if conditions directly and you should be fine.


-Kabir

chrisk
Posts: 0
Joined: 06 Jun 2007, 05:07

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by chrisk » 06 Nov 2007, 07:57

Hi Kabir

Thansk for the reply, works great now.

Another question

On my digital clock I added another expression ( if <60 append ":") to set a colon before the "0" (or first character) on the minutes and seconds.

How would I add a "th" or "st" etc AFTER the date

ie 6th November 2007.

Hope this makes sense!

Regards
Chris

chrisk
Posts: 0
Joined: 06 Jun 2007, 05:07

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by chrisk » 06 Nov 2007, 10:34

Hi Kabir,


Just realised how to achieve the last question.

Its all in this thread, youve just got to look a bit harder!

Ive started on our company website, which I intend to do in QID, been uploading and testing periodically, since linking the clock swf it seems to run steppy, would this have anything to do with the 1 second delay in the clock script?

Also, I still cant get the cursor to stay normal when over a window object. Any ideas?

http://www.alandaleuk.com/test.html




Regards
Chris

Kabir(Quark)
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Oct 2006, 23:29

Create a Digital Clock with 4 actions in QuID

Post by Kabir(Quark) » 14 Nov 2007, 01:21

Hi Chris

Love your site. Very Slick.

I did not notice any steppiness in the site. Do you still see that problem?

If you want the cursor to stay normal over a window object , go to the event tab with the window object selected and select "No change" from teh cursor drop down.


Hope this helps.


Regards,
Kabir
QuID QA

Locked

Return to “Expressions”