Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Discuss PDF Export and Print functionality of QuarkXPress 2015, 2016 & 2017, including PDF/X workflows
nagarj
Posts: 0
Joined: 24 Nov 2015, 15:26

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by nagarj » 15 Feb 2016, 12:08

Update: Quark tech support has reproduced this problem and acknowledged it as a defect in the software. Six weeks ago they promised a patch to fix it. But they have failed to respond to several requests for an approximate time frame. The recent February 2016 patch did not fix it.

I'm glad Quark has acknowledged the problem but disappointed they won't give users some guidance on how long we'll have to wait for a fix. I don't think Quark 2015 is usable for professional work until that fix arrives since, by Quark's own admission, it ruins a substantial percentage of placed PDF files upon output. Considering all this I feel I should warn the wider design and production community about this severe defect and about Quark's unwillingness, so far at least, to provide any kind of timeline for fixing it.

Thanks again to all those who responded.

User avatar
UtahLlama
Posts: 59
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 08:39
Location: The Grand Line

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by UtahLlama » 10 Jun 2016, 01:36

This week's update to 11.2.0.5 would appear to have fixed all of these errors in the Exported PDFs.
Noticed that the Charles 2 pdf now views incorrectly inside Quark.

Would be nice if someone from Quark could comment on what was causing the error.
Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 07.32.02 copy.jpg
Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 07.32.02 copy.jpg (69.47 KiB) Viewed 5733 times

A Palaniappan (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 17
Joined: 31 Dec 1969, 19:00

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by A Palaniappan (Quark) » 10 Jun 2016, 05:34

Hi UtahLlama and nagarj,

Thank you for contacting Quark.

Kindly verify in QuarkXPress 2016 and we have resolved the text rendering issue on import the 'Charles..pdf'

Thanks
A. Palaniappan

nagarj
Posts: 0
Joined: 24 Nov 2015, 15:26

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by nagarj » 10 Jun 2016, 15:32

I'm the original poster. Unfortunately, it's not fixed.

It outputs OK when Quark 2015 is set to ignore or flatten transparency. But it outputs incorrectly when Quark is set to export transparency natively (the Quark default and necessary for many common workflows). This is exactly the earlier behavior.

Quark, what is the status of this? It's been a long time since you acknowledged this problem as a defect in the software.

Is it actually fixed in Quark 2016?

This is a really bad bug. A very large job of ours got ruined by it. With all respect, it needs to be fixed quickly.

Thanks,
Bill

A Palaniappan (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 17
Joined: 31 Dec 1969, 19:00

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by A Palaniappan (Quark) » 12 Jun 2016, 22:22

Hi nagarj,

Thank you for contacting Quark.

We have resolved this issue in QuarkXPress 2016, kindly verify by installing the QuarkXPress 2016.

Let me know if you are facing any issue.

Thanks
A. Palaniappan

User avatar
UtahLlama
Posts: 59
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 08:39
Location: The Grand Line

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by UtahLlama » 15 Jun 2016, 08:30

Sorry I didn't notice my Transparency settings had stuck on "ignore" when I re tested.
as nagarj states its still not fixed when switching them to "native". :(

I'm unable to confirm if 2016 fixes this as my trial has expired. :cry:

nagarj
Posts: 0
Joined: 24 Nov 2015, 15:26

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by nagarj » 16 Jun 2016, 07:04

We have resolved this issue in QuarkXPress 2016, kindly verify by installing the QuarkXPress 2016.
I cannot. I bought the upgrade but never received serial number and license key. Wrote to Quark sales asking for them but never heard back. Very frustrating. Not sure what to do next.

A Palaniappan (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 17
Joined: 31 Dec 1969, 19:00

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by A Palaniappan (Quark) » 16 Jun 2016, 07:06

Hi,

Kindly contact Matthias in the forum or Facebook with the required details.

Thanks
A. Palaniappan

nagarj
Posts: 0
Joined: 24 Nov 2015, 15:26

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by nagarj » 29 Jun 2016, 15:37

To Quark: unfortunately this problem is not in fact fixed in Quark 2016. You can easily verify this for yourselves using my test files. Some of the pages now output correct, but others still output incorrectly when Quark is set to output transparency natively (the default).

This is disappointing. We have now purchased two Quark upgrades (2015 and 2016), and neither one is usable. Both corrupt output. We are still forced to continue using Quark 9 to get correct PDF output for our large publications.

Can Quark please prioritize a fix for this awful bug, which I first reported to you back on November 24, 2015?

Thanks,
Bill

A Palaniappan (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 17
Joined: 31 Dec 1969, 19:00

Re: Quark 2015 changing placed PDF's upon output

Post by A Palaniappan (Quark) » 01 Jul 2016, 07:24

Hi,

Kindly share the PDF files in which you are still facing the issue.

Kindly send the files to apalaniappan@quark.com

Thanks
A. Palaniappan

Post Reply

Return to “QuarkXPress 20xx: Output (Printing & PDF Export)”