Trade Gothic LT Pro Cn will not bold on quark 2017

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 2017 (excluding Digital Publishing)
For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.
Post Reply
merlin2049er
Posts: 0
Joined: 26 Apr 2011, 12:21

Trade Gothic LT Pro Cn will not bold on quark 2017

Post by merlin2049er » 30 May 2018, 12:40

Hi, we are having a problem with a font "Trade Gothic LT Pro Cn". I can not bold this font.

It worked with the previous version of Quark Express 10.

Thanks,
Joe

User avatar
MikeWenzloff
Posts: 352
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: Trade Gothic LT Pro Cn will not bold on quark 2017

Post by MikeWenzloff » 30 May 2018, 13:24

Hi Joe,

I don't have that version, I do have Linotype's version licensed via Adobe, so the Std. versions. They do bold properly here.
capture-001892.png
capture-001892.png (33.52 KiB) Viewed 1616 times
So what happens when you try? Does it even appear in the new style drop down?

Mike

merlin2049er
Posts: 0
Joined: 26 Apr 2011, 12:21

Re: Trade Gothic LT Pro Cn will not bold on quark 2017

Post by merlin2049er » 30 May 2018, 14:00

It works with my installation of Quark Express 2017
gothic.png
gothic.png (37.71 KiB) Viewed 625 times
But not the other installed version. Is it missing some font?

User avatar
MikeWenzloff
Posts: 352
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: Trade Gothic LT Pro Cn will not bold on quark 2017

Post by MikeWenzloff » 30 May 2018, 14:39

And yet the warning sign that the Bold Condensed is being faked is present in your screen shot from v.2017.

It may be that the internal names are all mucked up. A not too uncommon situation even among fonts from major foundries.

User avatar
Sirish Nair (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 233
Joined: 15 Mar 2005, 09:57
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Trade Gothic LT Pro Cn will not bold on quark 2017

Post by Sirish Nair (Quark) » 30 May 2018, 23:29

merlin2049er wrote:It works with my installation of Quark Express 2017
gothic.png
But not the other installed version. Is it missing some font?
Do you have the bold/ bold condensed font style of the Trade Gothic LT Pro Condensed available on the system? Are you using any font management utility?
Sirish Nair
Senior Technical Lead, Quality Assurance
QUARKXPRESS PUBLISHING R&D (INDIA) PVT. LTD.
A-45, Industrial Area, Phase 8-B, Mohali, Punjab, India Pin: 160059
sinair@quark.com | http://www.quark.com

Image

merlin2049er
Posts: 0
Joined: 26 Apr 2011, 12:21

Re: Trade Gothic LT Pro Cn will not bold on quark 2017

Post by merlin2049er » 31 May 2018, 08:45

Hi. I'll compare the fonts I've got on my system with what is currently installed on the other pc (which is having the issues).

Thanks,
Joe

Post Reply

Return to “QuarkXPress 2017: General”