Page 1 of 1

Quark Xpress 2017 Pasteboard

Posted: 11 Jun 2018, 10:49
by Hywel72
Hello, have just upgraded to Quark Xpress 2017, from version 9 within the offices of a small quarterly publication.
At this early stage, the only thing that alarms me is the lack of pasteboard, it has virtually disappeared.

I cannot explore the preferences correctly as there's a bug in there requiring me to cancel a sub window 20 times, so at the minute I cannot alter the view of the document through preferences.

Your assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Re: Quark Xpress 2017 Pasteboard

Posted: 11 Jun 2018, 12:06
by max.peter
Hello,

Are you on Windows or on MacOs?

Re: Quark Xpress 2017 Pasteboard

Posted: 11 Jun 2018, 21:33
by MikeWenzloff
Probably deleting preferences would rectify the issue.

Re: Quark Xpress 2017 Pasteboard

Posted: 13 Jun 2018, 07:17
by Hywel72
Thank you - a great deal has changed since I last deleted preferences of an application. First search of Youtube on this yielded no results.

Re: Quark Xpress 2017 Pasteboard

Posted: 13 Jun 2018, 07:17
by Hywel72
max.peter wrote:Hello,

Are you on Windows or on MacOs?
It's a PC system here. Thank you

Re: Quark Xpress 2017 Pasteboard

Posted: 13 Jun 2018, 08:32
by MikeWenzloff
With version 2017 you can run the Quark Cache Cleaner tool to both clear the cache and delete the preferences. I left the path to my installation in the screen shot.

Please ensure QXP is not running before proceeding...

It is in the Tools sub-folder of the installation folder. When started, there is a checkbox to select that will also delete the preferences.
capture-001902.png
capture-001902.png (16.22 KiB) Viewed 1075 times
Note this will reset any palettes, etc., back to their default settings. If you wish to back up or rename the preferences folder in the off chance this isn't the issue you can do so by typing %appdata% into File Explorer's input bar at the top of it. Then navigate to the Local folder, then to the Quark folder, and rename the current 2017 folder.

Preferences will automatically be rebuilt when you next restart QXP.

Mike