Applying line screens to images

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 2019.

For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.

Want to discuss with hundreds of fellow QuarkXPress fans and interact with the QuarkXPress team? Then join our Facebook Group please, where every day dozens of questions are being asked and answered: https://www.facebook.com/groups/quarkxpress/
Post Reply
Worthington
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 May 2015, 08:19

Applying line screens to images

Post by Worthington » 11 Mar 2020, 09:57

You used to be able to apply a line screen (and other options) to individual images, setting screen frequency and angle. It was especially useful to counteract moiré effects or mask a bad image's limitations. It was also a useful tool to apply 'artistic effects" with coarse a 30 lpi screen at 45 or 60°

This feature seems to have been dropped and I hadn't noticed its passing until today. Or is it hidden somewhere in the settings? I have a situation where a client is insisting on using their cruddy image and a line screen would be a quick and easy route to solve the problem.

I know you can do it in Photoshop and export as eps but as I don't have PS any more I was relying on QXP to do the job for me.

User avatar
max.peter
Posts: 902
Joined: 11 Sep 2010, 12:35
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Applying line screens to images

Post by max.peter » 12 Mar 2020, 08:44

This facility is still present in the Print dialog box. You need a driver for a virtual postscript printer to use it.
Every day is a good day to learn something new.

Worthington
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 May 2015, 08:19

Re: Applying line screens to images

Post by Worthington » 13 Mar 2020, 12:04

Hi and thanks for your reply. Doesn't your suggestion apply the screen to every image?

There used to be an option under the item menu. As I recall it was item modify (Command-M my fingers tell me). You were able to select individual images and adjust the screen and view the result on screen.

It looks like the very useful option was dropped when they reprogrammed and introduced everything on the tool bar (a retrograde step IMHO). Rather than nice biog pallets and tabbed boxes. I'm working on a book with 800+ images dating back to the 1960s. I've got an old copy of PS on a screen-less Mac so I'll have to do it over the network and export as eps (never my favourite image type). It's going to take !@£$%ing hours to do something that used to be a two click option in QXP.

Unless someone can tell me another solution…

User avatar
MikeWenzloff
Posts: 459
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: Applying line screens to images

Post by MikeWenzloff » 13 Mar 2020, 12:20

Hmm. I don't remember the capability in version 9. Which was the last version before the new graphic engine. But it could be just that I don't remember it because I didn't use it, either. I'll re-install 9 to check. But the closed Facebook group has many active participants and one of them may remember.

Could it have been one of the add-on XTs capabilities?

Worthington
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 May 2015, 08:19

Re: Applying line screens to images

Post by Worthington » 14 Mar 2020, 11:14

Hi Mike

As I recall it was in QXP 3 and onwards and definitely not an extension. I think I last used it in QXP5. Which was my favourite, never crash QXP, even under Rhapsody, so I used it in preference the dreadful QXP6 and until Rhapsody was no more. I'm finding the latest version QXP2019 is fast becoming the worst I've used for years.

While the guys in India are very helpful, even to the point of telephoning me and running my Mac via Team Viewer, there are some real problems. Not the least being the Spotlight plug-in repeatedly crashing. Easy to solve by removing it from the Application package but still annoying. I also get umpteen crashes when selecting images to import into documents. I've gone back to the regular Command-S twitch every time I remember.

User avatar
MikeWenzloff
Posts: 459
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: Applying line screens to images

Post by MikeWenzloff » 14 Mar 2020, 12:30

Hah hah...I don't really remember 3 and up till 8, and at that, barely...

2019 is stable here. The Facebook group has only a couple reports of instability and those were with fonts--old PS Type 1 fonts if I am recalling properly.

Really, for me, 10 was a terrible version. Not so much for instability but it was the first rewrite of the whole graphics engine. Slow was a accurate word.

Still haven't gotten around to installing v.9 to see if it still had the function you are looking for.

User avatar
UtahLlama
Posts: 92
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 08:39
Location: The Grand Line

Re: Applying line screens to images

Post by UtahLlama » 15 Mar 2020, 12:42

I do remember v3 onwards :D
I can't imagine that the 'feature' you are asking for was much used.
Most RIPs back then would have been set to ignore any screening information in the postscript.
Whilst I understand how it COULD overcome moiré, chances are its just as likely to make it worse.
Back then you'd waste a piece of film or two, these day's at best it would be wasted plates, at worst you'd be stopping a press run.
Also back then there would certainly be postscript in the workflow to carry the custom screening instructions, going to PDF its totally different.
A PDF is capable of holding XMP comments that can carry custom screening, I don't think any of the Adobe software is capable of producing these.You need specialist software for the Packaging industry such as Art Pro, you would also need a RIP capable of honouring the XMP.
To give you an idea of how unusual this would be, a program such as Pitstop offers the functionality to check for and remove XMP but not to add or edit the XMP. Prinergy has a buried preference to pass through XMP, but if you want to control this you need $5K+ for the Dotshop Module. To be blunt you would need a printer who specialised in screen print to also print litho. By the way if you are printing digital you are not going to have any screening control.
Your best bet would be to simulate the screening you want upfront in Photoshop, I don't think saving as EPS is going to work (if that is where you think you can add screening info) because its so unlikely to get through your chosen DTP.

Worthington
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 May 2015, 08:19

Re: Applying line screens to images

Post by Worthington » 16 Mar 2020, 04:21

Thanks for your answer. So line screens no more, eh? As it is I have persuaded the client to put her grotty image/s on the back cover instead of the front. She even has a 72dpi one she wanted to enlarge to 600dpi. "I did it in Photoshop and it looks okay on screen". I printed it off and got nasty orange bands of interference.

User avatar
UtahLlama
Posts: 92
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 08:39
Location: The Grand Line

Re: Applying line screens to images

Post by UtahLlama » 16 Mar 2020, 16:08

If its OK on screen it will probably print ok to a Litho plate.

Worst lack of pixels I saw last year was 13dpi printed out at 1.5m x 1m, it looked as bad as I imagined ;)

Post Reply

Return to “QuarkXPress 2019: General”