I just discovered....

Kick back on the couch and discuss all things not directly related to QuarkXPress.
Emma
Posts: 657
Joined: 07 Jul 2004, 08:43

I just discovered....

Post by Emma » 27 Jul 2010, 06:34

Suppress picture output!
I've always known about suppress box output, of course. But I'd never clicked on the picture tab and seen that I could suppress the picture alone. However long has that been there???

User avatar
eyoungren
Posts: 3273
Joined: 27 May 2004, 16:08
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Contact:

I just discovered....

Post by eyoungren » 27 Jul 2010, 06:45

Don't know. I use that weekly to suppress headers when we don't need them, but was unaware you could suppress just the picture alone. So, I guess you could print a picture box with a border, but not the image then?

Emma
Posts: 657
Joined: 07 Jul 2004, 08:43

I just discovered....

Post by Emma » 27 Jul 2010, 06:48

Aha, so you'd not spotted it either? I couldn't work out why this ad wouldn't print. Converted the pdf to a tiff and all sorts. And then I clicked on the picture tab, and there it was! 20+ years in Quark...

User avatar
eyoungren
Posts: 3273
Joined: 27 May 2004, 16:08
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Contact:

I just discovered....

Post by eyoungren » 27 Jul 2010, 07:36

Still learning the dang program myself! Maybe Matthias ought to give us a class about everything we don't know. At least for me it would total up way more than I do know! [:D]

User avatar
Matthias Guenther (Quark)
Quarkian
Quarkian
Posts: 2482
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 15:06
Location: http://bit.ly/QuarkHamburg
Contact:

I just discovered....

Post by Matthias Guenther (Quark) » 27 Jul 2010, 20:10

Thank you for the flowers. And you guys are probably too smart for me to teach you anything ;-)
Seriously, sure, tell me a topic and I'll see if I can schedule an "advanced" webinar (enough interest presumed).
Best
Matthias

User avatar
eyoungren
Posts: 3273
Joined: 27 May 2004, 16:08
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Contact:

I just discovered....

Post by eyoungren » 27 Jul 2010, 21:01

Sounds like a plan to me!

larsen67
Posts: 496
Joined: 31 Mar 2005, 03:49

I just discovered....

Post by larsen67 » 01 Aug 2010, 22:42

Emma, double click a layer an you have an option to suppress output (just a heads up for when you find layers) ha ha you made me laugh :-)

Emma
Posts: 657
Joined: 07 Jul 2004, 08:43

I just discovered....

Post by Emma » 01 Aug 2010, 23:12

Find layers??? Cheek! I script layers for breakfast.

larsen67
Posts: 496
Joined: 31 Mar 2005, 03:49

I just discovered....

Post by larsen67 » 01 Aug 2010, 23:54

I know just pulling your leg But while you are here Do you use any 'Asset Management' software that you have integrated with both quark and ID that you would recommend?

Emma
Posts: 657
Joined: 07 Jul 2004, 08:43

I just discovered....

Post by Emma » 01 Aug 2010, 23:56

I manage images in Filemaker. I have scripts to place them into a Quark or an ID file - and a button for each. I guess you could build the choice into the script, but it's easiest just to have the two!
For text, XData works in both ID and Quark - exactly the same tagged text can be pulled into either app, which is very useful.

Post Reply

Return to “Sofa Threads”