XPress 2018 does not show pantone color

Discuss functionality of QuarkXPress 2018.
For Digital Publishing functionality please refer to forums in the "Digital Publishing" group.
User avatar
MikeWenzloff
Posts: 392
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: XPress 2018 does not show pantone color

Post by MikeWenzloff » 01 Aug 2018, 10:38

I hadn't tried a duotone image for a while. Just did and got the below.
capture-002056.png
capture-002056.png (131.26 KiB) Viewed 1857 times
So the color did come in. I'm using a PC with the 14.0.1 update.

Maybe you could share one of the images.

Sergio62
Posts: 11
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 04:44

Re: XPress 2018 does not show pantone color

Post by Sergio62 » 01 Aug 2018, 11:01

Hi Mike,

here is an image in Duotone EPS.

Thank you

MacOSX 10.13.6, QXP 14.0.1, Italian language
Attachments
Schermata 2018-08-01 alle 17.57.40.png
(658.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Fiorentini Fig_05c.eps.zip
(1.29 MiB) Downloaded 129 times

User avatar
MikeWenzloff
Posts: 392
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: XPress 2018 does not show pantone color

Post by MikeWenzloff » 01 Aug 2018, 11:40

Thanks, Sergio.

Here's what I discovered. You are correct that a Photoshop (assuming that's what you are using) duotone is not importing properly in my quick test.

A duotone exported from Corel PhotoPaint does show the Pantone when imported to Q.

A PSD version of your file imports correctly so that Q sees the Pantone.

If I load your EPS in AI and do nothing but export it, Q also sees the Pantone then, too.

At this point I would suggest just loading the PSD files. If they are not saved in PSD format, that can be batch automated in PS.

Arthur68
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Apr 2015, 05:08

Re: XPress 2018 does not show pantone color

Post by Arthur68 » 01 Aug 2018, 12:18

I confirm: just save yours files in PSD format to have the Pantone tones in QXP.

Sergio62
Posts: 11
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 04:44

Re: XPress 2018 does not show pantone color

Post by Sergio62 » 02 Aug 2018, 00:05

Hi,

for the moment I use PSD files. I hope the problem is solved XPress has always imported the Duotone EPS files correctly.

Sergio

Sergio62
Posts: 11
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 04:44

Re: XPress 2018 does not show pantone color

Post by Sergio62 » 24 Oct 2018, 08:46

Hi, the 14.1.2 update solves the problem.

Thank you

User avatar
MikeWenzloff
Posts: 392
Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 12:55

Re: XPress 2018 does not show pantone color

Post by MikeWenzloff » 24 Oct 2018, 09:57

Excellent, Sergio. Thank you for the report.

Mike

Post Reply

Return to “QuarkXPress 2018: General”